Nemko’s Terje Ulsrud receives IEC 1906 Award

Nemko’s Terje Ulsrud has won the International Electrotechnical Commission’s 1906 Award for his contributions within electrotechnical standardisation.

The IEC is the world’s leading organization for the preparation and publication of international standards in electrotechnology. The IEC 1906 Award, created in 2004, commemorates the organisation’s founding year and honours IEC experts around the world. The award recognizes exceptional and recent achievement, such as a project or other specific contribution, that advances the work of the IEC.

Terje Ulsrud received the award for his contributions to the TC 61 international technical committee creating standards for the electrical safety of household and similar electrical appliances. In addition, Ulsrud participated in the Chairman’s advisory group and in the Working Group 43 for electrical furniture. The award was presented by Leif T. Aanensen, Managing Director of Norwegian Electrotechnical Committee (NEK) during Nemko’s strategy meeting. NEK is the Norwegian member of IEC.

“Terje Ulsrud has in the course of many years contributed immensely to the work of TC 61,” says Aanensen. “He has deserved this award. This is not only a recognition of Terje Ulsrud, but it also shows the competence within Nemko and the Norwegian electrotechnical field. The award inspires everyone working within electrotechnical standardisation in Norway,” he says.

Nemko Managing Director Svein Ola Ulven also congratulated Ulsrud.

“Nemko is one of the major certification bodies within IEC, and much of our success relies on the great contributions of Nemko employees in various international committees,” says Ulven. “In this way, we are making a difference and at the same time gaining important information that is valued by our international customers. Nemko is proud that Terje Ulsrud received IEC 1906 Award and we see it as inspiration to continue this work,” says Ulven.