Skip to content
Search our site  

    ISO 45001 occupational health and safety

    ISO 45001:2018 (the former standard is OHSAS 18001:2007) is a combined working environment and safety management system.

    Contact our team

    ISO 45001:2018 is a combined management system for the working environment and safety similar to what is used for quality assurance within a company. 


    Why get ISO 45001 certification? 

    ISO 45001 certification is used to reduce health and safety risks, prevent work-related injuries, support a positive and healthy working environment and demonstrate health and safety compliance. It specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system and gives guidance on how to use and proactively improve it to support a safe and healthy workplace.   


    What kind of organizations should get ISO 45001 certification? 

    ISO 45001 is for organizations, regardless of size, that are looking to establish, implement and maintain an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system to improve occupational health and safety, while minimizing risks and system deficiencies. 


    What are the benefits of ISO 45001 certification? 

    With ISO 45001:2018 certification organizations can: 

    • Reduce employee exposure to occupational health and safety risks 
    • Support a positive and healthy working environment 
    • Continually improve OH&S performance 
    • Demonstrate compliance in regards to a positive working environment and safety concerns, fulfilling legal and other requirements 


    Why Nemko?


    • Nemko has a lean organization with an effective decision-making process and quick turnaround
    • Auditors have valuable experience and inspire a culture of constant improvement
    • They value communication with customers
    • Observations and comments are clearly expressed to ensure measurable improvement
    • The approach is practical and down-to-earth
    • The auditor is responsible for the customer during the entire audit process and audit cycle


    The certification process consists of two phases: 

    • Phase 1consists of an audit of the business in order to review the status of the organization, system documentation, infrastructure, etc. This assesses the maturity of the system. 
    • Phase 2is the certification audit, aiming to verify that the system documentation meets the requirements of the standard. The certification audit will give feedback to the organization on issues that are not in conformance with the standard and that need to be corrected before a certificate can be issued. 

    Experienced team

    Our knowledgeable and efficient auditors bring the longstanding expertise of a company that has been providing third-party certification according to ISO standards for more than a quarter of a century.

    Contact us