Skip to content
Search our site  
    May 28, 2020

    IEC 62368–1: A 2-minute Guide To The New ICT/AV Standard

    IEC 62368–1 is a new standard that covers two worlds that increasingly grow into one: ICT and AV. Here’s a quick guide on what to expect.

    2 standards become 1

    Up until now, equipment that feature both ICT and AV elements have had to one of two safety standards: IEC 60950‑1 and IEC 60065. They will now be replaced by IEC 62369–1.

    When will I need to make the transition?

    The incumbent standards will be withdrawn December 20th in most markets, and IEC 62368–1 will come into effect the same day.  

    However, the adoption time for IEC 62368-1 varies from market to market, adding to the complexity of the transition to the standard. If you are planning to sell to multiple markets, it is crucial that you understand on which standard the various markets base their market access requirements. 

    As we come closer to the end of EN 60065 and EN 60950-1 in Europe, we foresee that more companies will need to test and certify for two parallel standards.

    Key change: From incident-based to hazard-based 

    IEC 62369–1 not only replaces the two former ones, but also the changes the approach from incident-based to hazard-based. Rather than being formulated in response to incidents, the hazard-based approach will test equipment on how it safeguards users against energy sources within the product itself and its auxiliary equipment. 

    For further details, see In Compliance Magazine’s comprehensive article

    What does IEC 62368–1 cover?

    IEC 62368‑1 covers IT/AV equipment, which means everything that today is covered by IEC 60950‑1 and IEC 60065. The new standard also covers sub-assemblies of the main product – wires, adaptors, power supplies et cetera. 

    The holistic certification approach means that sub-assemblies manufacturers should make sure their products comply with 62368-1 in addition to 60065 & 60950-1; this can help them be chosen by purchasers as preferred vendors.

    Will it affect previously certified products?

    The IEC 62368-1 safety standard uses new performance and construction requirements that take the energy sources, safeguards and the intended users into account.

    Products that meet the legacy standards of IEC 60950-1 and IEC 60065 will not automatically meet the requirements of IEC 62368-1. As the end date for the legacy standards is nearing in Europe, it’s critical that manufacturers of IT and AV equipment develop a proactive plan to ensure their products remain compliant and marketable.

    Interested in product development? Check out our Guide for Product Developers: 6 steps From Idea to Market.

    What steps do I need to take? 

    Please consult the infographic below:


    IEC 62368-1 ICT/AV standard


    New call-to-action



    Other posts you might be interested in